Details

  • Thursday, 25 March, 2021
    7:00 am - 8:00 am

Course Information

FCEI Principles in Perspective—Exploring the Issues from Multiple Angles is the FCEI virtual-learning series. Running from February to October 2021 these live, sign-language interpreted, interactive webinars will be free to participants. Each webinar will address a topic from the point-of-view of professionals, Deaf and Hard of Hearing adults, and parents in a facilitated discussion. Q&A opportunities will be an important interactive feature of each webinar, so register early to reserve your spot!

The events will be provided in spoken English,  American Sign Language, International Sign Language and English live captions.

Ensuring Cultural Competence within FCEI Programs  

What do we mean by ‘cultural competence’? How can it be embedded into an FCEI program? This discussion will provide advice and suggestions for parents and professionals.

LIVE AT NEW TIMES:  25 March                                                

  1. Sydney 10pm
  2. London 11am
  3. New York 7am
  4. Johannesburg 2pm
  5. Vienna 1pm
  6. Denver 6am

These webinars are free to attend, and there is an option to make a donation towards the access costs. The webinars will be recorded and available on the FCEI website after each event.

Presenter

  • Dr Christie Yoshinaga-Itano
    Dr. Christine Yoshinaga-Itano is a Professor Emerita and Research Professor of Audiology, Department of Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences, faculty of the Institute of Cognitive Science, Centre for Neurosciences at the University of Colorado, Boulder, Department of Otolaryngology and Audiology at the University of Colorado, Denver and the Marion Downs Centre. She developed the Marion Downs Centre in 1996 and received funding from the National Institutes of Health, Centres for Disease Control, Maternal & Child Health, the Office of Special Education, and the Office of Education since the early 1980s. Dr. Yoshinaga-Itano has assisted many state departments of education and public health agencies, schools for the deaf and blind, and early intervention programs throughout the United States and its territories. In addition, she has served as a consultant for many countries who have developed early hearing detection and intervention programs. She was the recipient of the Academy of Audiology (AAA) the Jerger Career Award for Research in Audiology in 2013, AAA Research Achievement Award in 2001, the 2010 Robert Ruben Award for Research from the Society for Ear Nose and Throat Advances for Children, the 2014 Antonio Brancia Maxon Award for EHDI Excellence, and the 2010 Council for Exceptional Children, Division of Communicative Disabilities and Deafness Award.

Tickets

Details Price Qty
Registrationshow details + $0.00 (AUD)  
Registration with donationshow details + $25.00 (AUD)  
Registration with larger donationshow details + $50.00 (AUD)  

Registrations can only be confirmed
with payment by:
VISA and Mastercard Credit Cards